The E-Gov Act at 20: The Past, Present, and Future of Federal IT Transformation



This program is sponsored by Denodo

The E-Government Act is officially 20 years old. Rep. Jim Turner (D-TX) introduced the bill July 11, 2001. The House and Senate both passed it November 15, 2002; President George W. Bush signed it December 17, 2002. The E-Gov Act authorized a number of provisions that are very familiar to the government IT landscape now: it established the Federal CIO Council; it authorized the Federal Information Security Management Act; and it established the job of E-Government Administrator inside the Office of Management and Budget - the job now known as Federal CIO.

Seven people have held the job of E-Gov Administrator or Federal CIO under the E-Gov act:

  • Mark Forman (2001-2003)
  • Karen Evans (2003-2009)
  • Vivek Kundra (2009-2011)
  • Steve VanRoekel (2011-2014)
  • Tony Scott (2015-2017)
  • Suzette Kent (2018-2020)
  • Clare Martorana (2021-date)

On this program, for the first time ever, six of the seven people ever to serve in this job are together. Mark Forman, Karen Evans, Steve Van Roekel, Tony Scott, Suzette Kent, and Clare Martorana all join me today for a historic conversation on the past, present, and future of federal IT. Vivek Kundra was unable to join us today. 

This program is sponsored by


Join our Newsletter

Please fill out the requested information below